If Fiverr disables a seller’s account, most of the time, it does it for a valid reason. However, accidents and mistakes can happen at any time. And even if you did nothing wrong, you might still find your Fiverr account to be disabled the very next day.
The good news – as long as you did not violate Fiverr’s Terms of Service, Fiverr will help you recover your account pretty quickly. However, if it’s the other way around, it might not be possible to recover your account anymore.
In this article, we will show you different kinds of disabled Fiverr accounts, the reasons Fiverr terminates a seller’s account, and how to recover your disabled account.
Let’s dig in.
Types of disabled Fiverr accounts
In most cases, disabled Fiverr accounts can be classified into two separate types. The first one is a restricted account and the other one is a permanently disabled account. Before we even discuss how to recover your Fiverr account, you need to figure out which category your disabled account falls into.
If you suddenly get an email from Fiverr saying that your account has been restricted, it means that they have partially disabled your account. If this happens, you will still be able to withdraw your funds and complete any ongoing orders and receive the payments for them.
However, you can no longer accept any new orders or place orders on your Fiverr account. In fact, you won’t be able to send any kind of messages either.
When Fiverr restricts your account,
- None of your gigs will show up in a Fiverr search.
- You will have to wait for up to 90 days for the trial period to end before Fiverr informs you whether your account can be recovered.
Permanently disabled account
If your Fiverr account is permanently disabled, you can no longer restore it. Unless there is a mistake on Fiverr’s side, there is absolutely no chance of reviving this account. Fiverr usually permanently disables an account only if there has been a major breach in Fiverr’s Terms of Service. In this case, you can’t even log in to your account.
If that ever happens to your Fiverr account, you will have a 7-day window to withdraw your remaining funds, while the ongoing orders would be canceled and the buyers would receive a full refund.
Why did Fiverr disable your account?
You need to understand what actions may lead your Fiverr account to be restricted or permanently disabled. This way, you can avoid those pitfalls and prevent the penalties from Fiverr’s side.
Here’s a list of the most common reasons why Fiverr might disable your seller’s account:
- You’re using a fake profile picture.
- One or more of your gig descriptions are stolen from a different Fiverr seller(s).
- You have been caught requesting fake reviews and 5-star ratings.
- You have more than one Fiverr account.
- The images used in your Fiverr gigs are stolen from another active Fiverr account holder.
- You have been caught requesting payment for orders outside of the Fiverr platform.
- Severe misuse of the “Buyer Requests” section. Some Fiverr sellers use this section to promote their services, which violates Fiverr’s policy.
- You have been sending spam messages to others.
How to recover a disabled Fiverr account?
Is there a way to recover the disabled Fiverr account? Of course, there is. However, it absolutely depends on Fiverr and its customer support. They are your best bet to recover your seller’s account on Fiverr.
If your account has been restricted by Fiverr, the account will need to go through a trial period. During this time, the Fiverr team will go through your account’s past record and conduct to ensure that you didn’t violate Fiverr’s Terms of Service.
The whole process can be as fast as 7 days or can take as long as 90 days. If Fiverr finds that you didn’t violate any Fiverr terms or there was just a minor breach, your account will be recovered.
On the flip side, if your Fiverr account has been permanently disabled, there is absolutely no way to recover it unless Fiverr disabled it by mistake. In most cases, you won’t even be able to open a second Fiverr account.
While it’s possible to recover a disabled Fiverr account, there is no guarantee that you would be able to as that will be decided by Fiverr.